The Struggle: Passion, Anger and Negative Emotion

IMG_1020Lately I’ve been having an internal tug-of-war between understanding the corruption around us, and exhibiting a positive attitude. When my eyes first started opening to the many issues we face in our society, I felt helpless. Then I started to believe that the more I shared, the more likely we would be able to advance past our primitive ways (collective consciousness). So, I had countless conversations with people who were interested, and people who were not. I began noticing that, although I believed that this would help move us forward, I was plagued with anxiety and a twisted stomach when the conversation ended. This made me question my ego, but my ego kept telling me that I was just excited and passionate about the subject. I started to feel like I was becoming a negative person, and people would have to decide if they had the energy to be around me.

IMG_7769Today was the first day that I started to understand what was going on, and how to move towards a more positive existence. It’s all about gratitude! As much as all of these structural issues upset me, they are what we have. If I put all of my focus on the negative, the negative will keep perpetuating through my life. If I alter my focus to appreciating what we have and believing that there is hope for a better future, the outcome will be more positive. It’s much like Isaac Newton’s Law of Motion.

Recognizing the need for change is important, but sitting around and talking about it won’t move us to a better place. Critical thinking, action and positive motion will guide us to a more efficient, loving, and thoughtful reality.

Leave a Reply

